Dear forum reader!

If you want to get actively involved in the Forum and participate in the discussions, or want to start your own thread or topic, you will have to log into the game first. We are looking forward to your next visit in our Forum! Please be sure to register if you do not own a game account. CLICK HERE
Go Back   Battlestar Galactica Online > Battlestar Galactica Online - Archive > Archive > General Discussion and Questions
FAQ Members List Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20.07.2012, 01:00   #1
JustFrakIt
Forum-Apprentice
 
Join Date: 17.06.2011
Posts: 56
Default UNITY 64 Bit: A better way to go but..

When Microsoft first went from a 16 Bit OS (Win 3.1) to 32 Bit OS (Win 95) they used a technique. IRC it was call "chunking" Which is they just pad a 16 Bit command with 16 Bits of junk. which is then passed to the 32 bit OS Kernel. I am guessing has been adapted somewhat for 32 Bit to 64 Bit. The upside of this is you can use older programs either, but it takes more CPU resources to process to do so.

I've always had a hunch the problem has been centered around the Unity Plug-In for each respective browser. So with that in mind I opted to try and use the 64 bit Unity Web Player. With "chunking" in mind I opted to try using a 64 bit browser as well. So far that has made a drastic change, but I don't recommend you try it, unless you are comfortable performing the same steps. If you do so, it's at your risk, but it's also for your benefit. However, the down side of using a 64-Bit browser is not all the plugins you use normally, will work. Basically if you want a browser setup, just to use play the game...read on.

Overall Firefox has been the most stable browser, with the best compatibility with the unity plugin. Mozilla is an open source project, which means other parties can modify the code. Waterfox is a 64 Bit open source adaptation of Firefox. Which both use Mozilla. So if you use Firefox, you may wish to back up your user profiles before installing Waterfox.

Here's how:
http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/...refox-profiles

You then will want to D/L the Waterfox Browser:
http://waterfoxproject.org/

Once installed you will want to get the 64 Bit unity browser:
http://blogs.unity3d.com/2011/07/28/...4-bit-windows/

Before you log on to BSGO, you will want to clear the Unity browser cache. When switching from 32 bit to 64 bit, you MUST do this. Don't cry to me if you don't. If you are unsure of how to this,

Here's how:
http://en.board.bigpoint.com/bgo/sho...d.php?t=267585

Here's where:
http://webplayer.unity3d.com/setup/

Now when you log on the game. You will initially experience seemingly 2 lags/freezes. The normal flash page with the bar graph load. Then a long on on the load page, holding at the dreaded Loading Player Ship prompt. Once past that, I've had no problems with the game YET.

The load times are faster, and more importantly the better code, means less CPU time spent, and more CPU resources opened up. I can actually play game and read the forums at the same time! Now if you have any questions. That means you shouldn't try this.

- GRUNT -
JustFrakIt is offline  
Old 20.07.2012, 01:22   #2
ToasterRoaster
Forum-Greenhorn
 
Join Date: 09.02.2011
Posts: 11
Default

day late and a dollar short...already discussed via another thread.
ToasterRoaster is offline  
Old 20.07.2012, 02:15   #3
scbypwr
All knowing Oracle
 
scbypwr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22.03.2011
Posts: 5570
Default

Dont Delete Your Unity Cache!
__________________
Dirty Miners --- Death From Above


MWO Founder

LEADER...Keyboard Commandos and Forum Pilots Association!
scbypwr is offline  
Old 20.07.2012, 02:54   #4
Pawn0
Regular
 
Join Date: 21.12.2011
Posts: 227
Default

I already run 64bit browser and unity plugin, downside is that other 32bit plugins may not work.
Pawn0 is offline  
Old 20.07.2012, 03:16   #5
magic-man1
Forum Master
 
Join Date: 26.04.2011
Posts: 417
Default

64 bit windows no longer uses thunking (or chunking) technology. It now uses windows on windows which creates a virtual space to run 32 bit applications. This is why a 32 bit application does not completely crash the kernel in 64 bit windows 7.
The performance difference between running a 32 bit application in windows 32 bit and windows 64 bit is negligible.
The big difference is when we're using 64 bit unity in a 64 bit operating system it is able to take advantage of all the operating system functions and the memory, making it faster. It also requires no overhead for address translation or virtualization.

Generally when you run a 64 bit application in a 64 bit operating system it will out perform the 32 bit one as long as the 64 bit application is optimized for 64 bit.
__________________
I LOVE killing Escorts in my Raider, ESPECIALLY Turtles (I feed it Purina Raider Chow)!
The rules I try to live/die by:
1) Its only a game. Be civil and HAVE FUN.
2) See rule 1.

My new player name is.... TheMagicMachine!

Last edited by magic-man1 : 20.07.2012 at 03:21.
magic-man1 is offline  
Old 20.07.2012, 03:30   #6
MeatbagSlayer
All knowing Oracle
 
MeatbagSlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21.03.2011
Posts: 5006
Default

http://en.board.bigpoint.com/bsgo/sh...d.php?t=458848

-sigh-
__________________
Good Riddance
MeatbagSlayer is offline  
Old 20.07.2012, 03:34   #7
magic-man1
Forum Master
 
Join Date: 26.04.2011
Posts: 417
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pawn0 View Post
I already run 64bit browser and unity plugin, downside is that other 32bit plugins may not work.
Correct. U use 32 bit plugins with 32 bit, 64 bit with 64 bit.
personally I use the 64 bit browser only for the game with only unity, Java and flash.
I use the 32 bit one for all other browsing to keep the game running the fastest.
__________________
I LOVE killing Escorts in my Raider, ESPECIALLY Turtles (I feed it Purina Raider Chow)!
The rules I try to live/die by:
1) Its only a game. Be civil and HAVE FUN.
2) See rule 1.

My new player name is.... TheMagicMachine!
magic-man1 is offline  
Old 24.07.2012, 07:05   #8
Oles
Forum Inhabitant
 
Oles's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23.10.2010
Location: Rec Room
Posts: 252
Default

+1. I not use my 64bit browser for anything, except BSGO. Even for read this forum. And ofc I not install ANY plugins and add-ons to it. When I used Chrome for BSGO, I did same and have no problems too.
Oles is offline  
Old 01.11.2012, 15:24   #9
Droxneor
Forum-Newbie
 
Join Date: 22.09.2011
Posts: 6
Default

I am using unity 64 bit for a few weeks now. With the update of the game yesterday, I need to clear the unity cache, but I can't do this where I did it before. Where can I clear unity 64 bit cache please ?
Droxneor is offline  
Old 01.11.2012, 15:30   #10
scbypwr
All knowing Oracle
 
scbypwr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22.03.2011
Posts: 5570
Default

i think a google search will put you in the right spot. i think it is the same cache no matter the bits involved!
__________________
Dirty Miners --- Death From Above


MWO Founder

LEADER...Keyboard Commandos and Forum Pilots Association!
scbypwr is offline  
 


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:09.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.