Dear forum reader!

If you want to get actively involved in the Forum and participate in the discussions, or want to start your own thread or topic, you will have to log into the game first. We are looking forward to your next visit in our Forum! Please be sure to register if you do not own a game account. CLICK HERE
Go Back   Battlestar Galactica Online > Battlestar Galactica Online - Archive > Archive > General Discussion and Questions
FAQ Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 17.11.2011, 19:21   #1
redeye2020
Forum Duke

Default War Raider (Viper Mk7) vs Heavy Raider (Raptor) FR

I've been a dedicated Strike pilot since I started playing, except for the Adv. Banshee I outfitted to help out with fleet battles.
So I've FINALLY done it! I've saved enough Cubits to buy the Heavy Raider FR!
Or...I could use that money to buy the War Raider.
Plus, I'm only about 5K Merits shy of being able to upgrade the War Raider to Advanced.
I know the specs on paper between the 2, but I want to hear from those of you who have seat time with both (or just an opinion).
What have you been able to do with/against each and in what scenario?

Adv WR
5 Weapon Slots. Sweet! But is it worth the Energy drain?
3 Hull Slots. Nice! Especially considering you start out with 720 HP.
3 Engine Slots. 2 less than the Adv Raider. Hmmmm.
3 Computers. Definitely better than only 2.

FR
3 Weapon Slots. Is it enough?
5 Computer slots. I LOVE the edge I get from Elect Support in my Adv Heavy Raider.
1 Hull. Ouch! High level DC Packs? HP is only 650.
4 Engine Slots. With 4 Engines, I could go all Avoidance or install 2 Boosters with my 2 overlapping RCS Slides.
Coupled with my Harpy, I could easily have a straight line sustained speed of 110.

I see the different roles these 2 birds could play. But what's YOUR experience or opinion?
Old 17.11.2011, 20:51   #2
Challenger1978
Junior Expert